Licensing Committee

Applications for licences, permits or registrations are determined by the BHA however, in certain circumstances, the BHA may refer matters to the Licensing Committee for a decision on the merits, or an applicant may seek reassessment by the Licensing Committee in the event that the BHA has decided to refuse an application.

The BHA’s Licensing Committee procedures allow fair and impartial consideration of matters referred to it, which may include a hearing for individuals with the Committee.  In all instances, the BHA will put forward its reasons for the refusal or the referral, together with any supporting documentation.  The individual is then allowed a reasonable period of time to respond.  Hearings take the form of a discussion led by the Licensing Committee and individuals can be legally represented.

The Licensing Committee will reach a decision based upon the evidence before it and provide accompanying reasons as soon as practicable thereafter.

Decisions of the Licensing Committee are final subject to relevant rights of appeal to the Appeal Board.

Full details regarding the determination of applications can be found at Schedule (A)9 of the Rules of Racing.   Previous decisions of the Licensing Committee are detailed below.

2022 Committee Decisions

Mr J and Mrs S Best | September 2022

2021 Committee Decisions

Mr Gary Sanderson | 8 September 2021

Mrs S Best-amendments to conditions attached to licence

2019 Committee Decisions

Suzannah Best – 09 January

Mr Yue Tin Howard Cheng – 4 July 2019

2017 Committee Decisions

Anita Anderson – 12 December

Suzannah Best – 28 September

Suzannah Best – Licensing Committee Notice

Alan Berry – Hearing concluded 5 September, reasons published 14 September

2016 Committee Decisions

Alan Berry – Hearing concluded 5 December, reasons published 10 January

2015 Committee Decisions

Milton Harris – 2 June

2014 Committee Decision

Sean Quinlan – 30 September

Fran Ferris – 1 July

Tim Jarvis – 2 June

Keith Pollock – 28 March

2013 Committee Decision

Andrew Wilson – 15 October

Karl Burke – 10 July

Giles Bravery – 10 July

Matthew Salaman – 31 May

Dominic Ffrench Davis – 3 May

Kevin Morgan – 19 March

Philip Mitchell – 1 March

Paul Quinn – 6 February

Philip McEntee – 6 February

2012 Committee Decisions

Kevin Morgan – 10 December

Andrew Haynes – 10 January

Ray Williams – 6 January

2011 Committee Decisions

Merrita Jones – 24 June

Milton Harris – 22 March

Fergal Lynch – 9 March

Andrew Haynes – 8 March

Milton Harris (Reasons) – 12 January

2010 Committee Decisions

Richard Tierney (Reasons) – 9 September

Darren Williams (Reasons) – 3 August

Milton Harris – 14 January